Applauding excellence

College recognizes outstanding teachers, staffers at luncheon

Three MCC outstanding instructors and top-notch employees gained applause and monetary stipends when they were recognized for their achievements during the College’s Faculty Staff Association luncheon held Wednesday at the College’s Tommy E. Dulaney Center.

The Dr. Clarence W. Roberts Teacher of the Year Awards were given to Stuart Brown, Dr. Tommy Winston and Sandra Thomas. Recipients of the John A. Johnson Awards were given to Lori McClain and Pete Willis.

Brown is 3D CAD Engineering Program coordinator and instructor; Dr. Winston is Physical Therapist Assistant Program coordinator and instructor; and Thomas is an instructor in the Practical Nursing Program.

The Dr. Clarence W. Roberts “Teacher of the Year” Awards are named in honor of MCC’s longtime and distinguished vice president for instruction. The award honors faculty members who have performed exemplary service to the institution in an instructional area.

McClain, academic advisor, and Willis, energy education specialist and property control specialist, were selected as the John Johnson Award recipients. They were chosen from nominations that spotlighted their enthusiasm for the community college mission, college spirit, a commitment to service and job, and interest/participation in community and campus activities. The awards are named in honor of longtime business manager for the College.

Five hundred dollar stipends, funded by the MCC Foundation, came with each of these awards.

Valerie Bishop, biology instructor and chairman of the Science, Fitness and Wellness division, received the T.J. Harris Award. The accolade recognizes a faculty member who has made outstanding contributions beyond their regular job description to the College and to the community as well.

webservices Campus Events