MCC holds summer commencement

It was afternoon of excitement as students from Meridian Community College gathered to receive their diplomas and certificates at the Summer Commencement Program held in the Temple Theater Friday.

It was also the first MCC commencement for Dr. Thomas Huebner, who began serving as leader of the institution on July 1. MCC stages three commencements each school year in December, May and August, and officials note the ceremonies are the pinnacle of any school year because it allows the College to publicly celebrate student achievement.

During Friday’s ceremony, five graduates, Amber Keonna Jones, Hafsa Tanveer, Monitre L. Odom, Maaz Arif, and William Lee Ramsey, were saluted as recipients in the College’s Circle of Excellence. The outstanding graduates were chosen on the basis of scholarship, leadership, spirit and service.  Jones, a resident of Philadelphia, received her Practical Nursing Program certificate. She plans to pursue a career as a nursing administrator or educator. Odom, also a PN graduate, is from DeKalb and aspires to become a nurse practitioner or nurse educator. Tanveer, a Meridianite, received her degree from the University Transfer Program and plans to study psychology at Florida State University Panama City Campus. Her brother, Arif, is also going to study at FSU, Panama City Campus, to obtain a bachelor’s degree in computer science. He, too, is from Meridian and he received his degree in University Transfer program. Ramsey, a resident of Lauderdale, received his degree in the Medical Laboratory Technology Program. He plans to work in a clinical laboratory and continue his education to become a medical laboratory scientist.

Candidates for the graduation included: R'Darious Lanier Edwards of Belden; Jaylah Char'Neice Kennedy of Carthage; Jared D. Graham of Chunky; Irby Montana Brown, Charles Lane Hutton and Lamanda Parker Vick, all of Collinsville; Mary I. Nobles of Daleville, Tyra Jada McCallum, Monitre L. Odom and Jernita Shantel Nix, all ofDeKalb; Andre Burrell of Decatur, Ga.; Pamela Jo-Barrett Burr of Decatur; Hannah Cobb of Demopolis, Ala.; LaRico Angelo Lewis of Douglasville, Ga.; ShaQuere Myleshia Gray of Ellisville; Lisa Alford, Taran Tianne Collins, Ragan L. Freeman and Tristen Alicia Turner, all of Enterprise; Bridget Cassundra Robinson of Ethelsville, Ala.; Kevin J. Miller of Flora; Prashala D. Bland of Forest; Toneshia L. Smith of Heidelberg; Coleman Andrew Gilder of Hernando; Cameron Scott Boggan and Abby Kirstyn Hollingsworth, both of Hickory; Amanda Marketia Roundtree of Jackson; Ariel Elaine Sharp of Killeen, Texas; Latasha Denise Bell, Janet Leigh Gilbert, Andrew Dennis Harris, William Lee Ramsey and Jayda Kynsleigh Roberts, all of Lauderdale; Qourrian DeQuan Moffett Ducksworth and Chandler Faith Moore, both of Laurel; Tantineka Quashea Gulley of Livingston, Ala.; Lexie Amber Locklear and Chasity Williams, both of Marion; Quinn E. Cameron of McComb; Kobey J. Hill of Memphis, Tenn.;

Amanda M. Adank, Tyler L. Allen, Laquintanette Shana Amos, Maaz Arif, Valesa Monique Beard, Brittani N. Benamon, Hope Shermane Boyd, Shantyair Leshea Bradley, Jasmine Danisha Brown, Ollie Christopher Brown, Ana Emilia Calderon, A'Kevia Ta'Sha Carpenter, Montarius Bernard Clay, UmBreacha NaGrace Clemons, Travis Lee Crider, Toy Sha Cross, Matthew Kyle Daugherty, Clinton Jerel Davis, Dubiell Alberto De Zarraga Lago, Joseph Sergey DiPalma, Max P. Dickerson, Remus Ramon Essix, Courtney Fluker, Tcarro Antreair Ford, Kristen A. Gortney, Matthew Brett Griffin, Jeffrey David Hannah, Zain A. Hashmat, JaMarcus La'Quez Haynes, Vanlly Margarita Hernandez, Heather Ladawn Hill, Holly Ann Hill, Leta Joann Hudler, David Ivy, Santana A. Jenkins, Fantasia Ann Michelle Jennings, Vanessa Raley Jones, Cammie Cheyenne Keene, Latia T. Little, Sarah Danielle Lolley, Daveyonia Dynesha Loyd, Telesia Denell Loyd, Kacie Danielle McIlwain, Aaliya DeMetria Miller, Ashley M. Moore, Tracee Denise Moore, Charvelle S. Perkins, Alexandria Leigh Riser, Symphoni Sinea Simmons, Joshua Edward Sims, Crystal Smith, Taylor Paige Stuckey, Hafsa Tanveer, Kimberly Ann Taylor, Jada Michelle Turnbow, Jocelyn Monroe Webber, LeeAnn Williams and David Allan Wyrick, all of Meridian;

Micah Sheldon Britton of Montgomery, Ala.; Sedadrian Santina Blaylock, Sonya Renea Carson and Jamiya Cheyenne Williams, all of Newton; Brandy Nichole Fioramonti and Tracy L. Smith, both of Noxapater; Jasmine Shanice Abston, Jarrod Lane Agent, Lexie Brooke Comby, Chester Darnell Dawkins, Zaria Zhane Earnest, Amber Keonna Jones, Arieyana Symone Kirkland, Dyshea Yolanda McBeath, Lashundra Alice Rush, Chiquita Alexis Slaughter and Kedeejah M. Triplett, all of Philadelphia; Kabriyah Kardae Ford of Porterville; George Michael Bond of Preston; Lionel Lydell Bonner, Leah Denise Cook, Dawson Eli Denham, Angelica Dawn Killen and Sandra Jean Killen, all of Quitman; Ineshia Janae Winston of Scooba; Davis Earl Douglas, Earlshala Tytil Evans and Latoya Patrice Thomas, all of Shubuta; Kevin Tyson of Toxey, Ala.; and Eariel Shardaé Campbell, Daniel Matthew Connelly, Summer Leigh Dorman, Matthew Lee Putnam and Charetha D. Smith, all of Union.

webservices Graduation